Candidates Announced For Local Council Elections

The Town Hall in Hugh Town on St Mary's.

The Town Hall in Hugh Town on St Mary's.

The candidates for the upcoming Council elections on Scilly have been announced.

In total 22 candidates have put themselves forward for the local election which is due to take place May 4th.

There are some changes that come into effect with the upcoming elections. The number of council seats has been cut from 21 to 16 and will be comprised of 12 Councillors from St Mary’s and 1 from each off island. 

A total of 18 islanders will stand for the 12 seats on St Mary's. The full list is below. 

St Mary's:

  • Andrew Combes 
  • Adrian Davis
  • Robert Francis
  • Canon Perran Gay (withdrawn) 
  • Frances Grottick
  • Nicola Guthrie
  • Andrew Guy
  • Fraser Hicks
  • Bethany Hilton
  • Daniel Marcus
  • Amanda Martin
  • Thomas Mitchell
  • Edward Moulson
  • Avril Mumford
  • Michael Nelhams
  • Euan Rodger
  • Stephen Sims
  • Stephen Watt
  • Joel Williams 

There won't be elections on the off islands as only 1 candidate stood and therefore they will be automatically elected to the council. The full list is below. 

St Agnes: - Harry Legg

St Martin's: - Jonathan Smith

Bryher: - Marian Berkeley

Tresco: - Robert Dorrien Smith

Keith Bradford who was standing for St Martin's was ineligible as his paper was "invalidly nominated" according to the documentation released but the Council of the Isles of Scilly and Cannon Perran Gay has also withdrawn. 

The current Councillors for the off islands Mollie Peacock, Richard McCarthy, Christine Saville and Colin Daly have not stood for re-election.

Councillors Gaz O'Neill, James Francis and Gordon Bilsborough have not seeked re-election and Mike Nelhams who currently is a councillor for Tresco is standing for a seat on St Mary's. 

We'll have more on the local elections in Scilly over the coming day's and week's.